Posts tagged: qualifying order

Feb 18 2011

2011 Daytona 500 Qualifying

Its official, after the completion of the two qualifying races today; here is the starting lineup for the 53rd running of the super bowl of racing, the Daytona 500:
1 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
2 24 Jeff Gordon
3 22 Kurt Busch
4 31 Jeff Burton
5 78 Regan Smith
6 33 Clint Bowyer
7 29 Kevin Harvick
8 115 Michael Waltrip
9 17 Matt Kenseth
10 18 Kyle Busch
11 4 Kasey Kahne
12 192 Brian Keselowski
13 42 Juan Montoya
14 1 Jamie McMurray
15 43 A.J. Allmendinger
16 2 Brad Keselowski
17 5 Mark Martin
18 11 Denny Hamlin
19 27 Paul Menard
20 56 Martin Truex Jr.
21 39 Ryan Newman
22 99 Carl Edwards
23 48 Jimmie Johnson
24 00 David Reutimann
25 14 Tony Stewart
26 16 Greg Biffle
27 83 Brian Vickers
28 37 Robert Richardson Jr.
29 09 Bill Elliott
30 7 Robby Gordon
31 47 Bobby Labonte
32 21 Trevor Bayne
33 46 J.J. Yeley
34 6 David Ragan
35 9 Marcos Ambrose
36 77 Steve Wallace
37 71 Andy Lally
38 20 Joey Logano
39 34 David Gilliland
40 38 Travis Kvapil
41 87 Joe Nemechek
42 36 Dave Blaney
43 32 Terry Labonte

Now, Dale Earnhardt will not be starting the Daytona 500 in the first position, he has to go to the back because he wrecked his car and has to use a backup car. Jeff Gordon MAY have to go to the back as well if they can’t get the damage fixed from his wreck/incident in the second Gatorade duel today. Speaking of the duels here is how they finished in the first duel: Read more »

Jan 27 2011

New Points System, No Catch-can Man, Chase Change

Along with the pick a series rule change we posted about the other day, Nascar has announced some more changes, including the rumored new points system.

First off, they are making a change to the Chase for the Cup, the top ten drivers by points after the 26th race will continue to be in the chase, but position 11 and 12 will now go to the top two race winners in the top 20 points positions, so actually, the ones who win the most races in points positions 11-20. The top 10 chase drivers will still be seeded according to wins, while the 11th and 12th place chasers will stay in those positions. I think this is a good change; it will make it possible for someone who gets hot late to win several races and make the chase even if they were not in the top 12 in points.

They have simplified the points system for all of us loyal idiots I guess. Cup race winners will earn 43 points for the win, three bonus points for the victory and will earn at least 1 point for leading a lap. You can also get 1 point for leading the most laps, bringing the total possible maximum for a win to 48 points. All of the other drivers in finishing order will be separated by one-point increments, thus, the second-place finisher will earn 42 points, a third-place driver 41 points, up to the last place finisher who will earn 1 point. This will certainly make it easier to figure out, it will be interesting to see how it really affects the championship points this next season, and I am sure many will apply the previous rules to see if their driver would have fared differently under the older systems.

The qualifying order will now be set based upon slowest-to-fastest practice speeds. If bad weather cancels qualifying, the final starting lineup will be determined by practice speeds. The same rule book procedures will be used to determine eligibility to start a race. If weather cancels practice sessions, then the starting lineup will be set by points, per the rule book.

Cup teams now are allowed only five sets of tires for practice and qualifying instead of the six they were allowed to have and they must return four of those sets to Goodyear in order to get their race tires, and they may keep only one set of practice/qualifying tires.

The Cup series will be using the Closed Loop Fueling System that was introduced in the Truck Series, it combines a more efficient fueling system with the elimination of the catch-can man, teams will now use six, rather than seven, over-the-wall pit-crew members.

They are also continuing to change the look of the COT, trying to make it more appealing to the fans that think it should look like the actual manufacturer vehicle.

WordPress Themes